Lacrosse Game News

Shellenberger Named Tewaaraton Award Finalist


CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – For the second consecutive year, Virginia attackman Connor Shellenberger has been named one of five Tewaaraton Award Finalists, which annually honors the top college lacrosse player in the United States, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced Thursday (May 11).

Joining Shellenberger on the list are Pat Kavanagh (Notre Dame), Brennan O’Neill (Duke), CJ Kirst (Cornell) and Tucker Dordevic (Georgetown). The five finalists are invited to Washington, D.C., for the Foundation’s annual ceremony on June 1 where the winner will be announced.

“We are incredibly proud of these talented student-athletes,” said Tewaaraton Foundation President Andy Phillips. “They’ve given us memorable performances and have distinguished themselves as the best in college lacrosse. It’s with great excitement that we look forward to hosting them at the Tewaaraton Ceremony on June 1.”

Shellenberger is currently second in the nation in assists per game (3.31) and tenth in points per game (4.77). On Tuesday, he was named both an All-ACC selection and a Second Team All-American, according to USA Lacrosse Magazine. Shellenberger tallied his career high of 10 points twice this season, against Harvard (3g, 7a) and Towson (4g, 6a). In the Cavaliers’ 15-10 win at then-No. 1 Notre Dame, Shellenberger ripped two goals and five assists.

Thursday’s announcement marks UVA’s 12th Tewaaraton Award Finalist in school history. Only Duke (14) and Syracuse (12) have had at least a dozen finalists in its program’s history. Shellenberger joins Ben Rubeor (2007-08) and Steele Stanwick (2011-12) as Virginia’s only two-time finalists. Chris Rotelli (2003), Matt Ward (2006) and Stanwick (2011) were winners of the trophy.

The Tewaaraton recipients will be chosen at the conclusion of the 2023 college lacrosse season by selection committees comprised of premier college coaches who are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation. The finalists will be honored and this year’s recipients announced live June 1 at the Tewaaraton Ceremony at the University Club of Washington, D.C. To attend this exciting event, please visit:

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and

Shellenberger and No. 2 Virginia (11-3) host Richmond (11-4) in the first round of the NCAA Tournament on Saturday (May 13). Opening faceoff from Klöckner Stadium is set for noon on ESPNU. Tickets and parking passes for Saturday’s first round contest are on sale now at

Men’s 2023 Tewaaraton Award Finalists
Tucker Dordevic, Georgetown – Grad. Student, Attack
Pat Kavanagh, Notre Dame – Sr., Attack
CJ Kirst, Cornell – Jr., Attack
Brennan O’Neill, Duke – Jr., Attack
Connor Shellenberger, Virginia – Sr., Attack

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and USA Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six nations of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

Leave a Response