Women's Lacrosse

Denver Women’s Lacrosse Set to Host NCAA Regionals vs. USC


Story Links

  • Full Bracket
  • Printable Bracket

DENVER – The University of Denver women’s lacrosse team will host NCAA Regionals at Peter Barton Stadium as part of opening weekend of the national tournament, it was announced during the NCAA Selection Show on Sunday night. The Pioneers will take on the Southern California Trojans in the first round at 3 p.m. MT on Friday, May 12.
This is the first time in program history that the program will host the first two rounds of the national tournament. Denver secured an automatic bid into the NCAA postseason by winning the Big East Conference tournament championship earlier on Sunday.
The Pioneers are the No. 5 overall seed in the national tournament, marking the first time in school history the team will be seeded for the postseason. Only the top eight teams in the tournament receive seed numbers.
Peter Barton Stadium will also be the host site for a first-round matchup between Virginia and Albany on Friday at 6 p.m. MT. The two winners on Friday will meet on Sunday, May 14 at 1 p.m. MT in the second round at Peter Barton Stadium.
Ticketing information will be announced in the coming days. All games in the first two rounds will be broadcasted on ESPN+.
The Pioneers are in the NCAA Tournament for a fifth straight year and the seventh time in program history. DU has advanced to the second round in each of its previous six appearances and reached the quarterfinals in 2019 against No. 1 Maryland. Denver owns a 7-6 all-time record in the national tournament.
DU is 4-4 all-time in matchups against USC, as the two teams were conference foes in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation from 2013 to 2016. The schools last met in the 2019 first round of the national tournament, with Denver winning 11-10 in overtime. The Pios are 1-1 all-time at home against the Trojans.
Southern California is the Pac-12 Conference champions after going 16-3 overall and 9-1 in league play. USC defeated the University of Colorado 12-6 in the Pac-12 title game on Saturday.
The Big East Conference received three bids into national tournament, as Connecticut and Marquette picked up at-large berths in addition to the Denver’s automatic qualifier.
Overall, 29 schools are in the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse National Championship, with 15 earning automatic berths for winning their respective conference tournaments. The other 14 squads are at-large bids. The top three seeds have a bye in the first round.
Northwestern is the No. 1 overall seed, Syracuse is second, Boston College is third and North Carolina is fourth.
Peter Barton Stadium has served as a host site for seven previous men’s lacrosse national tournament games (all first round), and the University of Denver served as a neutral-site host for the 2015 men’s second round at nearby Empower Field at Mile High.

Visit DenverPioneers.com for complete coverage of all 18 of DU’s NCAA Division I sports
Like Denver Pioneers and Denver Women’s Lacrosse on Facebook
Follow @DU_Pioneers and @DU_WLAX on Twitter
Follow @DenverPioneers and @DU_WLAX on Instagram


Leave a Response