Lacrosse Game Sports

Four Big Green Honored with Postseason Ivy League Awards


By: Justin Lafleur

Story Links

  • Complete Ivy League Release

HANOVER, N.H. — Following a strong season of progress, four members of the Dartmouth men’s lacrosse team were recognized with postseason Ivy League awards, as announced on Wednesday. Emmett Paradine was named Rookie of the Year, the Big Green’s first Ivy League major award winner since 2007. Senior Mitchell Myers and junior Nate Davis were both named second team All-Ivy while junior Peter Lapina was named Academic All-Ivy.

Paradine becomes Dartmouth’s fifth all-time Ivy League major award winner, all being Rookies of the Year. The others were Ari Sussman (2007), Jamie Coffin (2003), Brian Merritt (1994) and Jenkins Marshall (1981).

This also marks the first time Dartmouth has had multiple players named first or second team All-Ivy in consecutive seasons since 2005-06. Myers was named to the first team and Daniel Hincks to the second team last season.

Paradine finished the season fourth on the Big Green in points with 27. He was tied for second in assists with nine and fourth in goals with 18. Paradine is the only Division I men’s lacrosse freshman to post 10 points in a game this season, scoring seven goals and dishing three assists in a thrilling 20-16 win at Hobart on Mar. 7. That followed a four-goal, one-assist effort against Siena, as he earned Ivy League Rookie of the Week after each of those efforts. He was also named Rookie of the Week for a third time following two points (one goal, one assist), a groundball and two caused turnovers against Brown in Saturday’s season finale. Paradine recorded a point in all six Ivy League games and had a point in all but one game this season while running on Dartmouth’s first midfield line.

Named All-League for a second straight year, Myers finished the regular season second in the Ivy League in faceoff percentage (56.1), which was also a career high (after winning 55.4 percent a season ago when he was named first team All-Ivy). Myers also collected a career-high 83 groundballs, which is currently first in the Ivy League overall and in groundballs per game (6.92). One of Myers’ strongest games came at No. 13 North Carolina when he won 24-of-34 faceoffs with 11 groundballs. That marked the fourth time in the first five games of the season he reached double figures in groundballs. Myers was 21-of-39 with 13 groundballs at Hobart going against Adam Shea, who has more than 500 career faceoff wins with a winning percentage over 55 percent. Myers was 19-of-23 with 11 groundballs against Siena and opened the season 17-of-26 with 12 groundballs at Merrimack. In Ivy League play, Myers was also 17-of-26 at No. 15 Penn with seven groundballs.

Davis earned All-Ivy for the first time in his career after breaking out with 29 points, third on the Big Green. He made things happen all season, helping facilitate the Dartmouth offense. Davis’ 20 goals were also third on the team while his nine assists were tied for second, also posting 11 groundballs and two caused turnovers. Davis recorded multiple points in 10 of the 12 games in 2023, including all but one Ivy League contest. Davis had two hat tricks — at Hobart and vs. No. 20 Princeton — while scoring two goals and dishing an assist in Dartmouth’s Ivy League opening win over Harvard. One of the goals came with 5:06 remaining to even the score at nine and force overtime. Davis recorded multiple points in each of the last four games of the season.

Lapina was Dartmouth’s representative on the Academic All-Ivy team. In the classroom, the junior owns a 3.88 grade point average as a Government major, while the attackman was a steady contributor on the field as well. Playing all 12 games and starting two, he finished with 12 points, one of seven Big Green in double figures, which included nine assists — tied for second on the team. Also on the Academic All-Ivy squad were Brown’s Matthew Gunty, Cornell’s Billy Chabot, Harvard’s Chase Yager, Penn’s Piper Bond, Princeton’s Ben Finlay and Yale’s Bryce De Muth.

The Big Green wrapped up their season with a 6-6 record, their most wins in a season and first time with a .500 record since 2008. Dartmouth began the year 4-0, as one of just two remaining undefeated teams in the nation in mid March. Dartmouth picked up a thrilling 20-16 nonleague win at Hobart in early March and received national attention on numerous occasions. The future is bright in Hanover as Dartmouth returns a large core of contributors in 2024, including its top five scorers.

CJ Kirst, Cornell (Jr., A – Bernardsville, N.J.)
Emmett Paradine, Dartmouth (Fr., M – Hickory, N.C.)
Connor Buczek, Cornell
CJ Kirst, Cornell (Jr., A – Bernardsville, N.J.)*
Coulter Mackesy, Princeton (So., A – Bronxville, N.Y.)*
Matt Brandau, Yale (Sr., A – Timonium, Md.)
Hugh Kelleher, Cornell (Jr., M – Wantagh, N.Y.)
Sam Handley, Penn (Sr., M – Portland, Ore.)*
Alex Vardaro, Princeton (Sr. M – Woodmere, N.Y.)
Gavin Adler, Cornell (Sr., D – Hewlett, N.Y.)*
Brendan Lavelle, Penn (Jr., D – Rye, N.Y.)*
Michael Alexander, Yale (Jr., D – West Islip, N.Y.)
Chayse Ierlan, Cornell (Sr., G – Victor, N.Y.)*
Matt Gunty, Brown (Sr., FO – Bethesda, Md.)*
BJ Farrare, Penn (Jr., LSM – Owings Mills, Md.)
Jack Stuzin, Yale (Jr., LSM – Baltimore, Md.)
Piper Bond, Penn (Sr., SSM – Baltimore, Md.)
Devon McLane, Brown (Sr., A – Westfield, N.J.)
Sam King, Harvard (So., A – Baltimore, Md.)
Chris Lyons, Yale (Jr., A – Medford, N.J.)
Aidan McLane, Brown (So., M – Westfield, N.J.)
Matteo Corsi, Brown (So., M – Plymouth, Mich.)
Nate Davis, Dartmouth (Jr., M – Bronxville, N.Y.)
Owen Gaffney, Harvard (So., M – Los Angeles, Calif.)
Brad Sharp, Yale (Jr., M – Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.)
Jack Follows, Cornell (Jr., D – Oakville, Ontario)
Ben Finlay, Princeton (Sr., D – Oakton, Va.)
Pace Billings, Princeton (Jr., D – Denver, Colo.)
Michael Gianforcaro, Princeton (Jr., G – Lincoln University, Pa.)
Mitchell Myers, Dartmouth (Jr., FO – Huntington Beach, Calif.)
Cathal Roberts, Princeton (Sr., LSM – Dublin, Ireland)
Beau Pederson, Princeton (Jr., SSM – Park City, Utah)
Billy Coyle, Cornell (Jr., A – Malvern, Pa.)
Leo Johnson, Yale (So., A – Greenwich, Conn.)
Andrew Perry, Harvard (So., M – Franklin, Mass.)
James Shipley, Penn (Sr., M – Weddington, N.C.) 
Christian Ronda, Princeton (Sr., M – Greenwich, Conn.)
Thomas Bragg, Yale (Sr., M – Cazenovia, N.Y.)
Mark Witt, Brown (Jr., D – Andover, Mass.)
Collin Bergstrom, Harvard (So., D – Winchester, Mass.)
Peter Blake, Penn (Sr., D – Needham, Mass.)
Emmett Carroll, Penn (Jr., G – Rye, N.Y.)
Jack Cascadden, Cornell  (Jr., FO – Garden City, N.Y.)
Chase Yager, Harvard (Sr., SSM – Virginia Beach, Va.)
*unanimous selection
*expanded team due to tie in voting


Leave a Response