Lacrosse Game News

Forty-Four Buckeyes Named OSU Scholar-Athletes


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Forty-four student-athletes from the Ohio State men’s lacrosse team were named Ohio State Scholar-Athletes for the 2022-23 academic year at Monday night’s Scholar-Athlete Awards ceremony. Senior attackman Jack Myers was also named a finalist for the 2022-23 Big Ten Medal of Honor.

“Our men have shown incredible effort and drive in the classroom this year and I am continuously impressed by their accomplishments in their respective academic careers and their commitment to our culture of academic success.” Ohio State head coach Nick Myers said. “Thank you to our academic coordinator Kaitlin Davis and Coach Lewis for their efforts in helping our men achieve Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honors.”

In all, 44 of 48 players on this year’s roster received scholar-athlete accolades. To qualify as an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must carry a 3.00 or better grade-point average. The team is on track to record its 14th consecutive semester with a 3.20 or higher combined GPA.

In addition to earning Scholar-Athlete honors, Myers was announced as a finalist for the 2022-23 Ohio State Big Ten Medal of Honor. He was one of three male student-athletes named a finalist for the honor, which is awarded to one male and one female student-athlete from the graduating class of each Big Ten member institution who has demonstrated excellence on and off the field throughout their college career. Myers is the 11th Ohio State men’s lacrosse player to be named a finalist for the award.

2022-23 Ohio State Men’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athletes

  • Alex Marinier – Finance
  • Ari Allen – Communication
  • Blake Eiland – Finance
  • Bobby Van Buren – Sport Industry
  • Carson Raney – Finance
  • Carter Hilleary – Communication
  • Colby Smith – Bioethics
  • Coleman Kraske – Exploration
  • Connor Cmiel – Finance
  • Connor Mitchell – Finance
  • Cullen Brown – Finance
  • Dante Bowen – Finance
  • Dillon Magee – Real Estate and Urban Analysis
  • Drew Blanchard – Criminal Justice Administration
  • Ed Shean – Marketing
  • Garrett Nilsen – Communication
  • Gavin Begonia – Finance
  • Greg Langermeier – Finance
  • Griffin Liedel – Logistics Management
  • Henry Blake – Finance
  • Jack Myers – Finance
  • Jake Snyder – Finance
  • James Cipolla – Health Sciences
  • James Hogan – Communication
  • Jason Knox – History
  • Johnny Maccarone – Construction Systems Mgmt
  • Jonny Cool – Engineering Physics
  • Justin Sherrer – Neuroscience
  • Kyle Borda – Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
  • Kyle Lewis – Public Management
  • Marcus Hudgins – Physics
  • Matt Fritz – Business
  • Matt Mercer – Finance
  • Mitchell Pehlke – Sport Industry
  • Mitchell Sandberg – Health Sciences
  • Noah Mendoza – Information Systems
  • Oran Gelinas – Exploration
  • Sam Burns – Finance
  • Sam Faber – Health Sciences
  • Skylar Wahlund – Finance
  • Stephen Zupicich – Finance
  • Taji Flynn – International Business
  • Tate Jones – Management & Industry Exploring
  • Trent DiCicco – Mechanical Engineering



Leave a Response