Lacrosse Game News

Hudgins, Myers and Van Buren Named to 2023 Tewaaraton Watch List


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State men’s lacrosse players Marcus Hudgins, Jack Myers and Bobby Van Buren are among the 50 players nationwide to the men’s 2023 Tewaaraton Award Watch List announced Friday by the Tewaaraton Award Foundation.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Myers is the Buckeyes’ active career leader with 203 points in his fifth season as a member of the program. A two-time captain, he averages over four points per game for his career. He has been the Buckeyes’ assists leader for the last four seasons and goals leader for the last two seasons. In 2022, he finished with a team-high 83 points, good for second-best in program history, and was named a Second Team All-American by USILA, USA Lacrosse Magazine and Inside Lacrosse. He finished fourth nationally in assists per game (2.81), eighth in goals per game (2.38) and second in points per game (5.19). Myers recorded five or more points in 10 of Ohio State’s 16 goals.

In his sophomore season for Ohio State, Van Buren is the reigning Big Ten Freshman of the Year and an honorable mention All-American. The Wingate, N.C. native has played in every game for the Buckeyes since he joined the team, posting 24 ground balls and 11 caused turnovers. He was named a preseason All-American by Inside Lacrosse and USA Lacrosse Magazine.

Marcus Hudgins is in his junior season and first at Ohio State. He was named the 2021 Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year and named first team All-Patriot League that same season. He currently leads the He has produced 61 caused turnovers for his career and 99 ground balls. He leads the team with three caused turnovers on the year. Hudgins joined Myers and Van Buren on the preseason All-American lists ahead of the 2023 season.





Leave a Response